Tertiary Awards at Senior Prizegiving 2018

Posted on November 05, 2018

Half Moon Bay Rotary Technology Scholarships

These scholarships are intended to encourage students to enter a trade or technology and to recognise the value of apprenticeships and cadetships.

The Macleans values have been displayed by both students and they have proven skills and abilities in their chosen area.

The scholarships in 2018 are awarded to: Sean Wilkie of Mansfield House and Jackson Passau of Rutherford House.

Miriam Elizabeth Gilbert Award

This prize is awarded in memory of Miriam Gilbert, a student at Macleans College 2004-2007.

The award of $750 is awarded to a Year 13 creative arts student, particularly focussing on media studies or graphic design who;

  • Displays creativity in their work
  • Who is highly individual

The recipient for 2018 is: Michelle Abraham, Batten House

University of Canterbury Scholarship

Go Canterbury Package

Eligibility for this is based on academic merit and a student’s willingness to get involved in activities outside the classroom to enrich their University of Canterbury experience.   It includes a $5,000 accommodation grant for University Hall, career and personal leadership development opportunities, as well as cultural and outdoor activities.

International First Year Scholarship

This award is valued at between $10,000 to $20,000.

The recipient for both these awards in 2018 is: Hanson Wang, Te Kanawa House

Otago University Awards

Otago University Leaders of Tomorrow Scholarship

Leaders of Tomorrow Scholarships are selected based on a balance of academic achievement and leadership, which might be demonstrated either through school, sporting or cultural activities, and/or community involvement.   This scholarship is valued at $6000.

The recipients are:

Inayat Haer, Batten House and Jake Edwards-Ingle, Rutherford House

The Otago Vice Chancellors Scholarship

The Vice-Chancellors Scholarship was established by the University in 2015 to celebrate the excellence of students enrolling at the University of Otago. Students cannot apply for this but are selected at the discretion of the Vice-Chancellor.

The recipient is: Mehtab Haer, Snell House

Otago University Academic Excellence Scholarship

The University of Otago Academic Excellence Scholarships are worth up to $35,000 over three years, and are primarily selected on the basis of outstanding previous academic performance, however leadership qualities and community involvement are also considered.

The recipients are: Joyce Chan and Nicholas Ye, Kupe House and Matthew Yang, Snell House

Auckland University Scholarship

The University of Auckland Top Achiever Scholarships are prestigious awards.   They are awarded to students who have demonstrated exceptional levels of academic excellence, all round ability, and leadership. This scholarship is worth up to $20,000 in the first year.

The recipient for 2018 is: Ash Dravid, Batten House

Senior Geography Cup

Donated by former Head of Geography Martin Scott, awarded to the Top Overall Student in Geography.

The recipient in 2018 is: Yang Fan Yun, Snell House

Special Donated Awards and Scholarship

The Ann Schaeffer Memorial Award for Excellence in Service to Others

This award is given to honour the memory of Ann Schaeffer a long serving member of the Macleans College staff.

Awarded to Hamish Regan, Rutherford House

The Dr James Bradshaw Hannah/MD Award

This award is given to a recipient who shows selfless service to others. This also includes a monetary scholarship of $1000.

Awarded to Etienne Naude, Upham House

Senior Prizegiving photos can be purchased via BC Photography