Sporting and Cultural Awards at Senior Prizegiving 2017

Posted on November 08, 2017


  • Sarah Hillier
    Cup for Excellence in Aerobics
  • Mia Kelly
    Main Family Cup for Excellence in Gymsports

Regional and National Representatives

  • Emma Stevenson, Victoria Goodman and Simone Kruger
    Federation of International Sport Aerobics & Fitness Australasian team
  • Kaylee Goodyer
    Individual representation at Association of National Aerobics Championships in Phoenix Arizona

Athletics Champions

  • Lakshay Bawa
    Year 11 Boys
  • Emma Hjorth
    Year 11 Girls
  • Jarod Hellier
    Year 12 Boys
  • Aleesha de Jong. Aleesha is also the Senior Girls Volleyball Player of the Year.
    Year 12 Girls
  • Charlotte Smaill
    Senior Girls Athletics & Senior Girls Cross Country Champion
  • Kamal Singh. Kamal represented Counties Manukau in Athletics and is also in the NZ Relay Development Squad Road for Tokyo Olympic games.
    Yee Cup for Senior Boys Athletics

Regional and National Representatives

  • Krystal Clark
    Krystal is a member of the Athletics NZ Emerging Talent Development member.<br>Krystal is also the Macleans College Intermediate Girls Cross Country Champion.


  • Keaton Tang
    Senior Boys Player of the Year
  • Sally Fu
    Senior Girls Player of the Year


  • Matthew Yang
    Auckland Under 19 Representative
  • Sonia Lu, Johnson Li, Rachel Li and Adam Fu
    Auckland Under 17 Representatives


  • Blake Van Uden
    Most Valuable Boys
  • Landy Zheng
    Most Valuable Girls


  • Priyanka Rao
    Girls Player of the Year
  • Cameron Hull
    Boys Player of the Year
    Cameron was selected for the Auckland U17 Cricket Team.

Cross Country

  • Charlotte Smaill
    Senior Girls Champion
  • Theo Quax
    Senior Boys Champion


  • Michael Purcell
    NZ Under 17 Representative


  • Angus Stewart
    Boys Most Valuable Player
  • Emily Gillion
    Girls Most Valuable Player
    Emily is also a member of the Auckland Football Federation Women’s national league team. In Futsal, Emily is a member of the Auckland U18 and women’s Futsal team and member of the NZ U18 Futsal team.


  • Louise Turley
    Auckland U16 Representative and member of the Women’s National League Training Squad
  • Chris Preece
    NZ U18 Futsal team


  • Jimmy Zheng
    NZ Development Squad
  • Connor Barker and Tony Liang
    Auckland Under 19 Representatives


  • Kate Haszard
    Senior Girls Player of the Year
  • Jim Hembrow
    Senior Boys Player of the Year


  • Jim Hembrow, Owen Hood Edwards, Brandan Laurenzi, Dylan Laurenzi, Chad Woolridge
    Auckland U18 Team
  • Margo Groenwald
    Women’s Auckland U18 Team
  • Maria Mayerhofler and Kayli Singleton
    Counties Manukau U18 Team


  • Lesly Lui
    Senior Netball Cup


  • Anna Rowland
    Auckland Under 17 Team
  • Harry Newbury-Lee
    North Island Training Squad


  • Trent Hunt
    Player of the Year
  • Sam Beere and Paula Ulakai
    Auckland Divisional U18 Team
  • Handro Vermeulen
    Auckland East U16 Team


  • Renee Hosking
    Intermediate Girls Champion
  • Alice Dickinson
    Senior Girls Champion
  • Adrian Chong
    Senior Boys Champion

Synchronised Ice Skating

  • Sabrina Snoad
    Queensland State Championships Team & Team Australia Team member

Table Tennis

  • Kerry Huang-Chen
    Cup for Excellence
  • Zhi Ying Cheng
    NZ Representative at Table Tennis World Junior Championships


  • Eric Tang
    Senior Boys Player of the Year
  • Kaitlyn Wilkinson
    Senior Girls Player of the Year

Touch Rugby

  • Sean Wilkie
    Counties Manukau U16 and Open Mens Team & U16 NZ Team Captain


  • Randy Jiang
    Senior Boys Player of the Year.
    Member of the Auckland U19 Volleyball Squad and U20 Oceania Team.
  • Aleesha de Jong
    Senior Girls Player of the Year

Water Polo

  • Nick Paterson
    NZ Secondary Schools Team

Cultural Awards

  • Yang Fan Yun and John Sibanda
    Special Prize for Debating
  • Emma Stevenson
    Special Prize for Stage Challenge
  • Jasmine Davy
    Year 11 Speech Contest Winner
  • Jonathan Shaw
    Year 12 Speech Contest Winner & Chorale Singer of the Year
  • Jason Liu
    Year 13 Speech Contest Winner

Service to the School for Kapa Haka Award

To recognise the contribution to the Kapa Haka Group of one senior boy and one senior girl each year.

This year’s recipients are: Matangi Peika and Kaya Hauraki-Manukau.

Cups for Music, Art, Dance and Drama


  • Jackie Liu
    Macapella Singer of the Year
  • Manvinder Kaur
    Canabile Singer of the Year
  • Walter Xu
    Chamber Orchestra Player of the Year
  • Vivian Chen
    Performer of the Year & Symphony Orchestra Player of the Year
  • Leon Chen
    Outstanding Contribution to Music & Senior Piano Competition Winner
  • Cecilia Zhang
    Singer of the Year
  • Yuna Otani
    Musician of the Year & Senior Concert Band Player of the Year
  • Nelson Lee
    The Lee family Cup for the most Outstanding Performer in the Musical Production


  • Siobhan Bishop
    Choreographer of the Year
  • Jaimee Clark
    Dancer of the Year


  • Flora Zhou
    Female Artist of the Year
  • Bobby Crouch
    Male Artist of the Year
  • Hannah Sutcliffe
    Painter of the Year
  • Charlie Stringer
    Photographer of the Year
  • Monika Todorova
    Designer of the Year
  • Jess Kwong
    Significant Student


  • Zoe Jansson-Bush
    Actress of the Year
  • Jehangir Homavazir
    Actor of the Year
  • Thomas Harms
    Shepherd/Clotworthy Award for Commitment to Shakespearian Drama