First Place at the Auckland Economics Pursuits Competition

Posted on September 25, 2019

Macleans College has won the Auckland Economics Pursuits Competition hosted by the Auckland Commerce and Economics Teachers’ Association (CETA), held on Thursday 19 September at the University of Auckland.

The competition featured seven rounds and over 100 questions for the five-person student teams. The team of Sanjit Ramesh Chandran (Hillary House), Abhinav Chawla (Snell), Henry Lockhart (Kupe), Anjie Wang (Kupe), and Jason Chan (Hillary) came first and were presented with a trophy.

Macleans College also came 3rd in the Accounting Pursuits Competition.  The team, comprised of Daniel Qiu (Hillary), Vivian Chan (Te Kanawa), Andre McKay (Te Kanawa), Tiffany Ho (Batten), and Joshua Zhu (Rutherford), was narrowly behind Avondale College by one point for second place.