Annual Mathex Competition

Posted on September 28, 2017

On Wednesday 23 August Macleans College entered two Year Nine and Ten teams in the annual Auckland Casio Mathex competition.

Macleans College has a history of success in this competition.

All four Macleans teams finished on the maximum score of 100 points; however, the Year 10 teams narrowly missed out on a podium finish, ending the competition with the A and B team in 6th and 7th place respectively.

The Year 9 A team won the competition in record time finishing the 20 questions in just over 12 minutes. The Year 9 B also narrowly missed the top three ending up in 5th place.

With over 100 teams entered for each year level from across the Auckland region this was an excellent result for the school.

The winning Year 9 A team was:Ellen Wang (Snell), Rick Han (Snell), Nicholas Lianto (Snell) and Abhinav Chawla (Snell).