Success at National Concert Band Championships

Posted on August 19, 2019

National Concert Band Champs Feature

The 2019 National Concert Band Championships were hosted by Diocesan School for Girls from 2 - 4 August.  

Macleans College was represented by two concert bands, five chamber ensembles and ten soloists over the weekend, all representing the college with distinction.

Gold awards were achieved by the senior Concert Band, Fortissimo Saxes (Saxophone Quartet), Flute Trio, David Li of Snell House (Tuba) and Yuna Otani of Batten (Flute).  The overall soloist award for the festival was also presented to David Li for his performance of the first movement of the Vaughan Williams Tuba Concerto.  

The senior Concert Band were also presented with a special award given for a performance of a work not originally written for concert band, for their performance of Peter Meechan’s The Pohutukawa Stands - a very moving work written in memory of the Christchurch earthquake disaster of 2011.

The full list of results is as follows:

  • Macleans College Concert Band - Gold Award and special award for an outstanding performance of an arranged work.
  • Macleans College Symphonic Band - Bronze Award and adjudicators commendation in the Bronze category.
  • Macleans College Flute Trio (Yuna Otani, Ariel Wang of Batten, Anna Eilerts of Rutherford) - Gold Award.
  • Fortissimo Saxes (Jimmy Zhou of Batten, Alex Jin of Mansfield, Lisa Sandbrook of Snell, Miles Boermans of Te Kanawa) - Gold Award.
  • Perfect Fifth (Shanhai Guan of Hillary, Joseph Yuan of Mansfield, Luke Lin of Mansfield, Alex Jin, David Li) - Silver Award.
  • Pentavent (Iris Wu of Mansfield, Nancy Chen of Rutherford, Bradley Shen of Kupe, Elyssa Chen of Snell, Caroline Chang of Hillary) - Silver Award.
  • Macleans College Horn Quintet (Luke Lin, Sean O’Loughlin of Upham, Emily Swasbrook of Kupe, Hinako Oshima of Kupe, Caroline Chang) - Bronze Award.
  • David Li (Tuba) - Gold Award and Outstanding Soloist award.
  • Yuna Otani (Flute ) - Gold Award.
  • Shanhai Guan (Trumpet) - Silver Award.
  • Luke Lin (Horn) - Silver Award.
  • Anna Eilerts (Flute) - Silver Award.
  • Emily Swasbrook (Horn) - Silver Award.
  • Iris Wu (Oboe) - Silver Award.
  • Alex Jin (Saxophone) - Bronze Award.
  • Jimmy Zhou (Saxophone) - Bronze Award.
  • Ryan O’Loughlin of Batten (Saxophone) - Bronze Award