Medals at Maadi 2017

Posted on April 03, 2017

The Macleans College Rowing Squad put in another impressive performance at the National Secondary School Rowing Championships (Maadi Cup) Regatta.

The squad tested themselves against over 2100 competitors representing 127 schools. With such a large field it took over 500 races to complete the week long regatta held at Lake Karapiro.

Macleans took 29 rowers and coxswains to the regatta with four crews making it through to an “A” final and another four reaching “B” finals.

Congratulations to the following two crews who put in medal winning performances:

Silver Medal – Boys’ U17 double sculls – Harry Newbury-Lee (Te Kanawa House), Heath Shepherd (Te Kanawa)

Bronze Medal – Girls’ U16 coxed quadruple sculls – Zara Ely (Rutherford), Zoe Marais (Hillary), Ffion Lewis (Snell), Georgia Anderson (Mansfield), coxswain Camille Dignadice (Rutherford)

Well done also to Byron Woods (Upham) for being recognised as one of the most efficient coxswains at the regatta and the U15 girls coxed four for making it to an “A” final in their first year of rowing.

Maadi is one of the largest secondary school sports events in New Zealand and one of the largest rowing regattas in the Southern Hemisphere. The Maadi regatta first began during World War Two in Egypt with New Zealand soldiers rowing against other competitors. The event was first raced in New Zealand in 1947.

The regatta was the finale for the 2016/17 rowing season.

The four Macleans crews who reached “A” finals were:

Boys’ U17 double sculls
Harry Newbury-Lee, Heath Shepherd

Boys’ U17 coxed quadruple sculls
Waldo Singleton (Kupe), Heath Shepherd, Harry Newbury-Lee, Jack MacDonald (Kupe), coxswain Camille Dignadice

Girls’ U15 coxed four
Caitlin Harley (Upham), Emma Penney (Upham), McKenzie Smith (Upham), Holly MacDonald (Kupe), coxswain Henry Smith (Kupe)

Girls’ U16 coxed quadruple sculls
Zara Ely, Zoe Marais, Ffion Lewis, Georgia Anderson, coxswain Camille Dignadice

The four Macleans crews who reached “B” finals were:

Boys’ U15 coxed four
Trent Marshall (Batten), Jed Williams (Mansfield), Dewald Van Rooyen (Hillary), Matt Botha (Kupe), coxswain Byron Woods

Boys’ U16 coxed four
Waldo Singleton, Patrick Boyle (Te Kanawa), Leetham Beatt (Upham), Matt Botha, coxswain Camille Dignadice

Girls’ U16 coxed four
Zara Ely, Zoe Marais, Ffion Lewis, Polly Chamberlain (Te Kanawa), coxswain Henry Smith

Girls’ U18 Novice Double sculls
Kayli Singleton (Kupe), Chelsea Cox (Upham)